2012 Award Winners

The following award recipients were recognized at our 124th Annual Meeting on February 21, 2013:

■ The Arts Leadership Award, recognizing efforts to promote the arts in Greenville, sponsored by The Peace Center for the Performing Arts, was presented to CertusBank.

The Max Heller Neighborhood Improvement Award, named for former Greenville Mayor Max Heller and sponsored by CBRE | The Furman Co., was presented to The Salvation Army Ray & Joan Kroc Corps Community Center.

■ The Minority Business of the Year Award, sponsored by Bank of America, was presented to Flat Fee Recruiting and founder/owner Ava Smith, whose permanent placement agency helps companies find employees. The award is given to a local, independent and minority-owned company in business for at least three years.

■ The Small Business of the Year Award, sponsored by Dixon Hughes Goodman LLP, was given to Rush Wilson Ltd., a family run clothing store in Greenville.

Mark Basanda, owner and president of Utility Audit Solutions LLC, recognized as Ambassador of the Year for meeting with members to discuss their business needs and participation in Chamber activities.

■ The ATHENA Leadership Award® , sponsored by CertusBank, was presented to Jo Hackl, a corporate and securities attorney with the Wyche Law Firm; Greenville County Council member Xanthene Norris; and Nancy Whitworth, the city of Greenville’s director of economic development. The award honors individuals who assist women in reaching their leadership potential and demonstrate excellence, creativity and initiative in their business or profession.

■ The Buck Mickel Leadership Award, sponsored by AT&T, recognized former U.S. Sen. Jim DeMint of Greenville.

■ The Annual Chairman’s Award, sponsored by Ogletree, Deakins, Nash, Smoak & Stewart, P.C., recognized South Carolina House Majority Leader Bruce Bannister, a Greenville attorney.

■ The Special Chairman’s Award, sponsored by Blue Cross/Blue Shield of South Carolina,was  presented to David Lominack, TD Bank’s market president in the Upstate/Midlands region, for community leadership contributions.

■ The Leadership Greenville Distinguished Alumni Award was presented to Greenville Forward Executive Director Russell Stall.

Young Professional of the Year, sponsored by BB&T, was presented to Nick Graham, a local engineer. The award recognizes an individual between the ages of 22 and 39 for community involvement.